What a small town

So, I can’t even count how many times I have gotten on the bus and seen someone I know even though there are hundreds of buses and a really ridiculous amount of bus companies.  We tried to name them all the other day and we came up with 15 easily and there are of course some that we hardly use and couldn’t think of.  

I love finding people in random parts of the city.  I also love that Colombians pretty much assume I am Colombian unless I open my mouth to talk. So when a gringo friend gets on the bus and we start having a conversation, I love to see the faces of the Colombians who were near me when they hear me speak flawless English.  

Well, I was leaving a play that I went to see and I was taking the bus home by my self.  The bus was half full in a way that for every bench seat for two there was already one person.  So you go through the turn style and scan to find the lesser of all evils and I see this guy with nerd glasses like mine.  I took one look at him and thought, this guy is totally a gringo.  However, I have been wrong before, there are some particularly gringo looking Colombians. Anyway he gets a phone call and I try and hear his accent as best as I could over the blaring vallenato music. And although his Spanish was good, I definitely picked up some gringaliciousness.  So I ask him where he is from And I asked him in Spanish from and he answered that he was from China.  “Completamente 100% Chino” he said and then I leaned in to get a better look at his eyes and he was totally not Chinese.  I didn’t know what to say. Call his bluff and look like an idiot?  Play along?  I played along, “oh, that’s nice” then he asks where I am from and I said Chicago.  Then I switched to English.  He was taken aback that I was actually an American because I think he thought I was lying like he was.  He’s from Kansas I found out and he teaches English at the local University.  He says he lies about where he is from all the time because people just eat it up..  I’m going to have to try that one day.  Anyway, I talked with him for the rest of the ride and then I got his info to friend him on FB.  Nice guy.  He plays in a bluegrass band in town.  I’m going to have to check it out.

 

2 thoughts on “What a small town

Leave a Reply

